Serving Snohomish, Monroe
Everett, Mukilteo

Come Visit us on Facebook
Custom Search

Mill Creek Jewelers

Pierres Polaris

Snohomish County 4H

Sno Health & Rehab


Seven will be interviewed for council seat Nov. 13
EVERETT - Seven applicants will be considered for the Everett City Council seat vacated by Shannon Affholter.
The seven moving forward are: Art Thomson, Judy Tuohy, June Robinson, Rich Anderson, Elly Smith, Megan Dunn and Kim Nielsen.
The council narrowed the field of 12 last week. Five applicants, including Jackie Minchew, Jim Staniford and former councilman and state legislator David Simpson, received no nominations.
Each council member privately selected their two preferences to move forward last week and their choices were made public at the meeting.
Robinson received three nominations, and Anderson, Tuohy and Smith received two nominations. Thomson was one of Councilman Ron Gipson’s selections, and Councilwoman Brenda Stonecipher nominated Dunn and Nielsen.
This week the council will interview the seven nominees the afternoon of Nov. 13 and narrow the field to a final selection during that night’s council meeting.
The interviews run from 3 to 6 p.m. in the Council Chambers, 3002 Wetmore Ave. The council meeting starts at 6:30 p.m. Both the interviews and the meeting will be televised live on Everett TV for Comcast and Frontier customers.
The council is facing an underswell of criticism that the council lacks socioeconomic and gender diversity.
With one woman on the seven-member council for much of the past decade, some residents say it’s not representative of the city. (Last year the council appointed Gigi Burke to an interim position after Councilman Drew Nielsen died in a whitewater rafting accident.)
One person last week told council members to pick a woman or else.
“To appoint anyone but a woman would be a blatant abuse of your power,” resident Angela Krisinger said, adding that she spoke with the National Organization for Women, a women’s rights group, “and if you won’t appoint a woman ... we may need to get political.”
Krisinger called Stonecipher the council’s “token woman.” Stonecipher has been elected three consecutive times and recently beat now-Councilman Scott Bader in the 2011 elections.
Among the 12 who applied, half were women and almost half of the applicants live in south Everett.
Among the seven moving forward, four live in south Everett and three live in the political gravity center of north Everett.
Council members have said the choice will be tough because of the strong pool of qualified applicants.
Tuohy is the director of the Schack Art Center. Thomson is a real estate broker who chairs the city’s parks board. Smith is a real estate agent who supports neighborhoods. Robinson is a researcher and public health policymaker who’s tried four times to get on council. Nielsen is a nonprofit worker. Dunn is a researcher interested in public policies. Anderson is a certified public accountant with an interest to serve.
Council members’ selections
• Councilman Paul Roberts nominated Judy Tuohy and June Robinson
• Council President Jeff Moore and Councilman Scott Murphy nominated June Robinson and Rich Anderson
• Councilman Ron Gipson nominated Art Thomson and Elly Smith
• Councilman Scott Bader nominated Judy Tuohy and Elly Smith
• Councilwoman Brenda Stonecipher nominated Megan Dunn and Kim Nielsen


Check out our online Publications!


Country Living 1214


Senior Lifestyles

Kids Stuff

auto guide

Outdoor Adventure 0914

Discover Snohomish

Everett Map 2014

sno chamber

Monroe Business Guide

Discover Everett




Mach Publishing Copyright 2014