Serving Snohomish, Monroe
Everett, Mukilteo

Come Visit us on Facebook
Custom Search

Mill Creek Jewelers

Pierres Polaris

Snohomish County 4H

Sno Health & Rehab


Filing deadline closes for November local races
MONROE/SNOHOMISH - The deadline to file for local races closed Friday, May 17 with Monroe Mayor Robert Zimmerman declining to file for re-election.
On the last day to file for local office last week, two people had filed to run for mayor: Geoffrey Thomas, who had already announced his candidacy for mayor, and Ed Davis.
Almost all Monroe City Council members up for re-election will have challengers.
Brad Waddell is challenging Councilman Kevin Hanford for position 1. Daniel Williams is challenging Councilman Kurt Goering for the two-year at-large position. Councilman Tom Williams won’t be running for re-election. Two people filed to run for his position: Jeff Rasmussen and Mike Stanger. No one filed to challenge Councilwoman Patsy Cudaback for position 2.
Except for the at-large two-year term, City Council members serve four-year terms.
Over in Snohomish, a couple races for City Council will be challenged.
Councilman Derrick Burke will be challenged by Michael Whitney (not the Tribune reporter). Councilman Dean Randall will be challenged by Eli Kunzmann. No one filed to run against Councilman Tom Hamilton, who filed to run again.
Councilman Greg Guedel won’t be running for re-election. Michael Rohrscheib has filed to run for his seat, which is position 4. All Snohomish City Council terms are four-year terms.
In the races for the Monroe School Board, only one seat will be challenged.
Darcy Cheesman and Jennifer Reiner have filed to run for the director district 3 position. Greg Accetturo won’t be running for re-election. Longtime board member Tom MacIntyre won’t be running for re-election either. Jason Hutchinson has filed to run for his seat, director district 1. Board member Jim Scott has filed to seek another term. All terms are for four years.
No one filed to challenge any of the current Snohomish School Board members. Board members Shaunna Ballas, Josh Seek and Jay Hagen have all filed to run again. All terms are for four years.
Two positions are up for re-election on the Monroe Fire Board. Marc Inman filed for position 1. Leslie Jo Wells filed for position 4. Both are six-year terms.
One position is up for re-election on the Snohomish Fire Board. Mark Hintz, current fire commissioner, filed for position 1. The term lasts six years.


Check out our online Publications!


Country Living 1214


Senior Lifestyles

Kids Stuff

auto guide

Outdoor Adventure 0914

Discover Snohomish

Everett Map 2014

sno chamber

Monroe Business Guide

Discover Everett




Mach Publishing Copyright 2014